Helm: Hands-On Training Kubernetes Package Management

Course Description

Package and manage applications on Kubernetes with Helm.

An application on Kubernetes consists of numerous resources that are created using manifests in the cluster. Helm is a package manager that bundles the manifests of all the Kubernetes resources that make up an application into a so-called Chart. The manifests are generated by templates, which allow a flexible customization through variables. This allows any number of instances of the application to be installed and managed using the same Helm Chart. This course provides a hands-on introduction to using Helm and developing custom Helm Charts.

Course Objectives

The participants learn how to use Helm. This includes installing, configuring, updating and managing applications through existing Helm Charts. Furthermore, this training covers the development of custom Helm Charts, including templates, hooks, tests, dependencies, as well as documentation, packaging and publishing of the resulting Charts.

Course Outline

Target Audience and Prerequisites

The training is aimed at developers and administrators as well as architects and decision-makers with a high level of technical interest. Participants must be familiar with the use of Kubernetes. This includes the proficient use of kubectl and creating YAML manifests for Kubernetes resources. Knowledge of basic programming principles, especially the use of variables, conditions and loops, is required.

Your trainer: Fabian Thorns

Upcoming Trainings

2022

  1. 24.10–25.10

    German

    Helm: Hands-On Training Kubernetes Package Management

    Online course with trainer

    2 Days | EUR1,200.00 (plus 19% VAT. = EUR1,428.00)

    Confirmed date! This course is guaranteed to take place.

2023

  1. 04.05–05.05

    German

    Helm: Hands-On Training Kubernetes Package Management

    Online course with trainer

    2 Days | EUR1,200.00 (plus 19% VAT. = EUR1,428.00)

Inhouse training

  1. This course is also available as in-house training.

Training newsletter

  1. Subscribe to our training newsletter.

Helm: Praxiskurs Kubernetes-Paketmanagement

Kursbeschreibung

Paketierung und Verwaltung von Applikationen auf Kubernetes mit Helm.

Eine Applikation auf Kubernetes besteht aus zahlreichen Ressourcen, die über Manifeste im Cluster erstellt werden. Helm ist ein Paketmanager, der die Manifeste aller für eine Applikation benötigten Kubernetes-Ressourcen in einem sogenannten Chart bündelt. Die Manifeste werden dabei durch Templates erzeugt, die eine flexible Anpassung durch Variablen ermöglichen. So können mit demselben Helm Chart beliebig viele Instanzen der Applikation installiert und verwaltet werden. Dieser Kurs bietet einen praxisorientierten Einstieg in die Nutzung von Helm und die Entwicklung eigener Helm Charts.

Lernziele

Die Teilnehmer:innen lernen den Umgang mit Helm. Dazu gehört die Installation, Konfiguration, Aktualisierung und Verwaltung von Applikationen durch vorhandene Helm Charts. Zudem umfasst dieses Training die Entwicklung eigener Helm Charts, einschließlich Templates, Hooks, Tests, Abhängigkeiten sowie Dokumentation, Paketierung und Veröffentlichung der erstellten Charts.

Kursinhalte

Zielgruppe und erforderliche Vorkenntnisse

Das Training richtet sich an Entwickler:innen und Administrator:innen sowie an Architekt:innen und Entscheider:innen mit hohem technischen Interesse. Die Teilnehmer:innen müssen mit der Nutzung von Kubernetes vertraut sein. Dazu gehört der sichere Umgang mit kubectl sowie das Erstellen von YAML-Manifesten für Kubernetes-Ressourcen. Kenntnisse in grundlegenden Prinzipien der Programmierung, insbesondere die Nutzung von Variablen, Bedingungen und Schleifen, werden vorausgesetzt.

Ihr Trainer: Fabian Thorns

Kommende Trainings

2022

  1. 24.10–25.10

    Deutsch

    Helm: Praxiskurs Kubernetes-Paketmanagement

    Online-Kurs mit Trainer:in

    2 Tage | 1.200,00 € (zzgl. 19% Mwst. = 1.428,00 €)

    Termin bestätigt! Dieser Kurs findet garantiert statt.

2023

  1. 04.05–05.05

    Deutsch

    Helm: Praxiskurs Kubernetes-Paketmanagement

    Online-Kurs mit Trainer:in

    2 Tage | 1.200,00 € (zzgl. 19% Mwst. = 1.428,00 €)

Inhouse-Training

  1. Dieser Kurs ist auch als Inhouse-Training verfügbar.

Training-Newsletter

  1. Abonnieren Sie unseren Training-Newsletter.