Prometheus: Hands-On Training Monitoring

Course Description

Monitoring of cloud native applications and infrastructure with Prometheus.

Prometheus is a tool for metrics-based monitoring of applications and systems. The particular strength of Prometheus lies in its automatic service discovery, which ensures that all relevant targets are monitored, even in dynamic environments with frequent changes. Prometheus has a simple yet powerful data model and query language. Because of these features, Prometheus is commonly used for monitoring cloud and container environments as well as cloud native applications. This course offers a hands-on introduction to monitoring with Prometheus. Special attention is given to the integration of Prometheus and Kubernetes.

Course Objectives

Participants learn how to monitor applications, services and infrastructure with Prometheus. This includes installing and configuring various exporters, service discovery and collecting metrics with Prometheus, as well as querying metrics via PromQL. In addition, the course covers creating dashboards with Grafana, defining alerting rules and configuring AlertManager, as well as an overview of Prometheus clustering, including Federation and Thanos.

Course Outline

Target Audience and Prerequisites

The training is aimed at developers and administrators as well as architects and decision-makers with a high level of technical interest. The participants have to master the basics of Linux system administration. They need to be able to proficiently use the command line, edit files on the command line, and manage system services. In addition, the participants need basic knowledge about the system properties and services to be monitored. Basic knowledge of Docker or Podman as well as Kubernetes is required for parts of the course.

Your trainer: Fabian Thorns

Upcoming Trainings

2022

  1. 27.09–29.09

    German

    Prometheus: Hands-On Training Monitoring

    Online course with trainer

    3 Days | EUR1,800.00 (plus 19% VAT. = EUR2,142.00)

    Confirmed date! This course is guaranteed to take place.

2023

  1. 13.03–15.03

    German

    Prometheus: Hands-On Training Monitoring

    Online course with trainer

    3 Days | EUR1,800.00 (plus 19% VAT. = EUR2,142.00)

Inhouse training

  1. This course is also available as in-house training.

Training "Monitoring mit Prometheus"

Kursbeschreibung

Monitoring von Cloud Native Applikationen und Infrastruktur mit Prometheus.

Prometheus ist ein Werkzeug zur metrik-basierten Überwachung von Applikationen und Systemen. Die besondere Stärke von Prometheus liegt in der automatischen Service Discovery, die auch in dynamischen Umgebungen mit häufigen Änderungen sicherstellt, dass alle relevanten Ziele überwacht werden. Prometheus verfügt über ein einfaches und zugleich mächtiges Datenmodell und eine eigene Abfragesprache. Aufgrund dieser Eigenschaften wird Prometheus bevorzugt für die Überwachung von Cloud- und Container-Umgebungen sowie Cloud Native Applikationen eingesetzt. Dieser Kurs bietet einen praxisorientierten Einstieg in das Monitoring mit Prometheus. Besonderes Augenmerk liegt dabei auf der Integration von Prometheus und Kubernetes.

Lernziele

Die Teilnehmer:innen lernen das Monitoring von Applikationen, Services und Infrastruktur mit Prometheus. Dazu gehört die Installation und Konfiguration verschiedener Exporter, die Service Discovery und das Erheben von Metriken mit Prometheus sowie das Abfragen von Metriken per PromQL. Zudem behandelt der Kurs das Erstellen von Dashboards mit Grafana, die Definition von Alerting Rules und die Konfiguration von AlertManager sowie eine Übersicht über das Clustering von Prometheus, einschließlich Federation und Thanos.

Kursinhalte

Zielgruppe und erforderliche Vorkenntnisse

Das Training richtet sich an Entwickler:innen und Administrator:innen sowie an Architekt:innen und Entscheider:innen mit hohem technischen Interesse. Die Teilnehmer:innen müssen die Grundlagen der Linux-Systemadministration beherrschen. Sie müssen sich sicher auf der Kommandozeile bewegen, Dateien auf der Kommandozeile editieren und Systemdienste steuern können. Zudem benötigen die Teilnehmer:innen grundlegendes Wissen über die zu überwachenden Systemeigenschaften und Dienste. Grundkenntnisse in Docker oder Podman sowie Kubernetes werden in Teilen des Kurses vorausgesetzt.

Ihr Trainer: Fabian Thorns

Kommende Trainings

  1. 27.09–29.09

    Deutsch

    Training "Monitoring mit Prometheus"

    Online-Kurs mit Trainer:in

    3 Tage | 1.800,00 € (zzgl. 19% Mwst. = 2.142,00 €)

  1. Dieser Kurs ist auch als Inhouse-Training verfügbar.